1 to 1 communication PreviousNext
Data Distribution Service (DDS) Forum > DDS Technical Forum >
Message/Author
Next message James  posted on Friday, June 06, 2008 - 04:26 pm
Hi, I am fairly new to DDS and I have been having a problem. I am currently evaluating DDS and I have been trying to see how to send a message just to one subscriber.

The example I am trying to make is to have two programs ( client and server ) and to send a command from the client which will be picked up from the server. The server will then send an acknowledgement back to the client. The cruicial thing is that there will be many clients who will not want to receive the response sent back to one client in particular. Is there a way to do this using DDS.

So far I have managed to use Builtin topics to discover other participants and I was planning on using the participant_key to identify the senders, however I can't seem to be able to get a particular key corresponding to the participant that sent a piece of data.

Is there a way, perhapes using DDS_SampleInfoSeq info_seq ; to get the key of the participant from which a piece of data has been sent?

Thank you for your time,

James
Next message Niels Kortstee  posted on Monday, June 09, 2008 - 07:51 am
Hi James,

You could model the client identification as part of the topic type. Lets say a client sends a sample of Topic A and the server acknowledges reception of such a sample by sending a sample of Topic B back to the client.

Consider adding a field to the topic type for both Topic A and B to identify a client. Each client has a DataWriter for Topic A and needs to make sure its identification is sent with each 'Topic A' request to the server. The server can simple re-use that identification in the 'Topic B' acknowledgement it sends back. By creating a ContentFilteredTopic that filters out other client identifications and a DataReader for that, a client will only receive the acknowledgements that are meant for him.