Unique ID PreviousNext
Data Distribution Service (DDS) Forum > DDS Technical Forum >
Message/Author
Next message dddddd  posted on Wednesday, April 02, 2008 - 09:04 am
Hi all,

This may sound too elemantary for you guys but, I would like to know if there is a built-in ID for every DDS topic by which one can identify the entity uniquely. I came across to get_instance_handle but could not be sure of it since I am a newbie.

Thanks.
Next message Niels Kortstee  posted on Wednesday, April 02, 2008 - 09:23 am
A Topic is identified by its name, which must be unique in the whole Domain.

Cheers, Niels
Next message Erik Hendriks  posted on Wednesday, April 02, 2008 - 09:33 am
Every topic created in a DDS Domain is represented by a so called builtin-topic, that describes its name, its datatype, its Qos settings and some other stuff. The keyfields of this builtin-topic sample are guaranteed to be unique in your DDS Domain.

These builtin topic samples can be accessed using the DCPSTopicDataReader in the builtin Subscriber. Every sample accessed this way is accompanied by an instance_handle that makes that sample unique within that specific DCPSTopicDataReader. The handle can only be used in the context of that specific DataReader instance, and has no meaning in another DCPSTopicDataReader instance.

The handle you receive when invoking the get_instance_handle() operation on the Topic object is the instance_handle that corresponds to the builtin topic sample that describes the state of that Topic object within the DCPSTopicDataReader of your builtin Subscriber. The instance_handle you receive that way is therefore only unique within your builtin Subscriber and thus your own DomainParticipant: not within the rest of the Domain. However, the keyfields in your builtin topic sample are unique throughout the entire Domain.

Regards,
Erik.
Next message dddddd  posted on Wednesday, April 02, 2008 - 09:33 am